To Be A Pilgrim

A few months ago, I was chatting to a friend, Bruce, and saying that my wife and I and a couple of friends were thinking about walking some of the Camino next year.

“Ah, then you might like to come on our annual pilgrimage” He said …

Each year, in August, people from the Roman Catholic Diocese of Arundel and Brighton organise a two week ecumenical pilgrimage to a place with spiritual significance.


This year, the walk started from Bristol and ended in Arundel – to mark the 150th anniversary of Arundel Cathedral.

In the end, I could only do two days, but honestly, that felt like a challenge – around 16 miles each day. The last time I walked that far, I was 18, and it was a night walk of 30 miles to raise money for charity, and I had to stop after 26 miles.

Since then, I think the furthest I’ve walked in one day would be the 17 miles walking along the river Lee into London.


Even two days was an experiencethat I’ll remember, and mostly for the conversations more than the walking. In fact, it seemed like the walking was a vehicle to give time for either some silence when I walked alone, or for rich conversations when I walked alongside others.


Having experienced just a small part of the pilgrimage, I’m keen to look more closely at the possibility of doing part of the Camino.

Watch this space.



Leave a comment

About Me

I’m fortunate to be retired, and to have time to focus on some of my interests in a way that I couldn’t when I was working. In this blog, I’ll be collecting ideas about walking.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started