Walking in Solidarity

I’m discovering the power of that word ‘solidarity.’ I remember when I first became aware of the importance of the word in the 1980’s as the Polish trade union ‘Solidarity’ played a vital part in the emergence of Poland from the Soviet era.

I had hoped to put this post up yesterday on May 15th – the day that marks the 75th anniversary of the Nakba – the forced expulsion of thousands of Palestinian families from the homes in 1948.

Last Saturday, we walked in solidarity with thousands of others to protest the injustice and oppression experienced by the Palestinian people in the Land of the Holy One.

We were a diverse crowd, probably with some very different ideas about the rights and wrongs of the situation, and what a solution might look like. But we did all have one thing in common, our desire to stand in solidarity with those whose lives are demeaned and diminished by virtue of their unequal status in Israel Palestine.

Walking to support the cause of Equality in Palestine/Israel

I don’t pretend to know all the intricacies of this situation, but what I know is that this situation is a great injustice and it must, and it will change.

My sense, from listening to a number of Palestinian activists, is that there must be a One State Solution, with equal rights for all. Any other solution threatens to draw even sharper divisions, and perpetuate the enmity for generations to come.

See here for a well informed article



Leave a comment

About Me

I’m fortunate to be retired, and to have time to focus on some of my interests in a way that I couldn’t when I was working. In this blog, I’ll be collecting ideas about walking.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started